Viral Hepatitis Grant for early-career researchers

Your 3 minute pitch could land you $2000 to carry out your amazing idea!

To honour World Hepatitis Day 2020 (28th July), the Australian Centre of Hepatitis Virology (ACHV) is announcing the funding of three $2000 prizes for early career researchers and PhD students to carry out innovative research into viral hepatitis.

The inaugural Viral Hepatitis 3-minute pitch session is now open for submission.

To apply, simply provide a project plan (maximum 500 words, including aims, hypothesis, methodology and outcomes), including any collaborations or potential future opportunities this project may facilitate. Send your idea to us along with your current CV(s) by 28th August 2020.

Entries will be assessed by a panel of expert scientists in the field and short-listed applicants will be invited to pitch their ideas in 3 minutes at a dedicated live event (either in-person or streaming online). Our expert panel will decide the winners of 2 prizes, and a crowd vote will decide on the people’s choice award!



  • 3 x prizes of $2000.00 each will be offered for consumables or services to carry our innovative research without regard to track-record.
  • We encourage ECRs, Masters and Ph.D. candidates to enter.
  • Applications can be made as an individual or group entry.
  • Applications should be sent to ACHV Secretary Dr. Thomas Tu (
  • Applications close on 28th August 2020.


  • ACHV reserves the right not to grant all or any awards.
  • Decisions will be final and no appeals will be considered.
  • Award winners must acknowledge ACHV funding in their presentation, and include the ACHV logo on their slides.
  • A short report should be provided to the Selection Committee (via the secretary) within 1 year. The report should include a brief outline of the results attained with the funding (2 pages maximum). This will be included in the ACHV Annual report.